CW It's the "External Change Detected" that confuses me - what is that source, and is it just a "Read" or is there a change being made to the value shown?
Its not very well described in the system log but to explain:
The portal contains a copy of all of the inverter settings and the givenergy app gets a copy of those settings from the portal. If you change a setting (e.g. start charging) in the app then it sends the change to the portal, then the portal sends the change to the inverter.
If you make a change to the portal then it obviously just sends the change direct to the inverter.
In this way it all works, the portal (and hence the app) knows what is set in the inverter.
However, the flaw with this is if you use something like Home Assistant and GivTCP or you use the Rubik Cube or BBC inverter apps then they all write commands direct to the inverter and do not go via the portal.
The portal is thus oblivious to these changes, it has an out of date copy of the inverter settings.
And this is the way it worked for quite a while. If you only used the GivEnergy app and portal it all worked fine but if you also used some form of local inverter control you had to be aware that the app/portal wouldn’t necessarily have the up to date information and you needed to do a ‘read’ of the inverter settings before changing them in the portal.
Then late last year GivEnergy introduced to the portal an automatic synchronisation of inverter settings BACK into the portal. These appear as a ‘read’ and ‘external change detected’ - i.e. the portal is reading the inverter and detects that something external to the givenergy app/portal ecosystem has changed the inverter settings.
(When this was first introduced they all appeared as ‘writes’ in the portal log which was even more confusing)
So what you are seeing is the portal recognising that something on the inverter doesn’t match what it thinks they should be. As I said though for none of these settings are there a ‘before’ which is what the portal thinks the setting originally was, so makes me think they are newly synchronised configuration items.
I wouldn’t worry about it.
But again another example of GivEnergy changing things and not telling anyone